Aldermen Race Sees Several New Faces

The qualifying deadline has now passed for the Board of Mayor and Aldermen election that has been set for June 1.

Mayor Tonya Spears is running for reelection this election cycle with two others throwing their name into the hat. Newcomers Michael Boles and Luke Collins will be campaigning for mayoral seat.

In addition to the mayoral race, the Board of Aldermen will have three empty seats with six newcomers campaigning against one another.

Those qualifying for the Board of Aldermen include Ron Hasten, Dawn Dale, Jennings “Trader” Hill, Winton Dillon, Justin Rooney Rich and Lester Kenny Westmoreland.

For more on this story, pick up a copy of this week’s Citizen-Statesman.

Leave a Comment